Mustang Trekking | Mustang Trek Itinerary | Mustang Trek - JRN Treks

Mustang Trekking

Mustang Trekking

Mustang is the late forbidden Himalayan kingdom of Nepal. Upper Mustang area is an arid land in Himalayan region of Nepal. This is Nepal Government protected trekking trail in Nepal. The upper part of Mustang or Upper Mustang is opened for foreign tourist since 1992. To entry in Mustang, you need to pay 500 USD but the government allows the limited number of tourist in a year. Tibetan traditions, culture, and costume inside the Nepali land make Upper Mustang is a mini Tibet.

Upper Mustang Trekking officially starts from Kagbeni. Afterward following the villages like Chhuksang, Chaile,Giling,Ghami, Tsarang and the capital Mustang Lo Manthang. Lo Manthang is popular as the city of the wall and Home of Mustang too.

To do a trek in Mustang is to explore the dry and unique land of Nepal and culture of Tibetan community. The thousand years old Caves and Monasteries in every village reflect the history of Nepal. So that Upper Mustang Trekking as a perfect combination of the natural and cultural trip in Nepal.

If you are planning to Travel in Mustang, you can choose the Tiji Festival period. Tiji Festival is an annual celebration in Lo Manthang for purifying the whole area and protecting the villages from enemies. This three days festival celebration is a grand event for Upper Mustangi peoples.

When to do trek in Mustang.

In Nepal, the best trekking seasons are spring and autumn so that Mustang region also has the best time at these seasons. Also, in Mustang the best time to travel is summer as well. During summer other parts of Nepal is rainy but Mustang and Dolpa region is dry. But during winter is not possible to do trekking in an upper part of Mustang due to the heavy snowy.

Upper Mustang trek itinerary.

Day 1: Arrive in Kathmandu.

Day 2: Trek preparation.

Day 3: Kathmandu to Pokhara Drive.

Day 4: Fly to Jomsom and trek to Kagbeni.

Day 5: Kagbeni to Chele.

Day 6: Chele to Shyangmochen.

Day 7:  Shyangmochen to Tsarang.

Day 8: Tsarang to Lomanthang.

Day 9: Exploration of Namgyal Gompa and Zong Cave.

Day 10: Explore the Lomanthang.

Day 11: Lo – Manthang to Dhakmar via Ghar Gumba.

Day 12: Dhakmar to Shyangmochen.

Day 13:  Shyangmochen to Chhusang via Ruchen Cave.

Day 14:  Chhusang to Muktinath.

Day 15: Muktinath to Jomsom.

Day 16: Fly to Pokhara.

Day 17: Drive back to Kathmandu.

Day 18: Free day in Kathmandu.

Day 19: Departure to the airport.